We are pleased to announce that Benchmark Litigation Canada has released its 2024 rankings and MLT Aikins is recognized as a “Highly Recommended” firm in Manitoba and Saskatchewan, as well as a “Recommended” firm in Alberta.

Twelve of the firm’s litigators were recognized as “Litigation Stars” and two MLT Aikins litigators have been named “Future Stars.” Congratulations to our recognized litigators.


Thor Hansell – Securities, Commercial, Professional liability

Christian Monnin – Labor & employment

Helga Van Iderstine, K.C. – Professional liability, Administrative, Regulatory investigations

Michael Weinstein – Construction, Commercial

John Martens  – Future Star


Douglas Hodson, K.C.  – Commercial, Class action

Deron Kuski, K.C. – Commercial

Jeff Lee, K.C. – Commercial, Insolvency

Eileen Libby, K.C. – Labour & employment, Insurance

Shaunt Parthev, K.C. – Insurance, Class action

Kurt Wintermute, K.C. – Tax disputes, Commercial


Jonathan Bourchier – Future Star

British Columbia

Tom Hakemi – Securities, Competition/antitrust, Commercial

Lisa Ridgedale – Securities, Commercial

In addition, on May 8 at a ceremony in Toronto, MLT Aikins won the following 2024 Benchmark Litigation awards:

  • Manitoba Firm of the Year
  • Saskatchewan Firm of the Year
  • Deron Kuski, K.C., Saskatchewan Litigator of the Year

Benchmark Litigation is the definitive guide to litigation firms and attorneys in Canada and the U.S. These awards recognize the country’s most distinguished litigators and their firms for their exemplary work over the past 12 months. After months of peer review-based research and submission reviews, the awards are judged on the most impactful cases, the lawyers and law firms behind them, and the litigators who have paved the way. These rankings aim to recognize the firms and litigators who have performed exceptionally at both local and national levels.